Raindance 2013 line-up announced

But did they make a mistake in putting Julian Assange on their jury?

Review: Ain't Them Bodies Saints

Rooney Mara is fantastic in this delicate, sun-soaked Western

Review: About Time

Ever since I was a boy, I always wondered about voice-overs...

Film review: Wadjda

Every now and then, a film comes along that changes the world. Sometimes, you don't even realise it's doing it.

World War H – or hate’s not all that

What do Shyamalan, World War Z and Man of Steel have in common? Hype - and hate.

https://i-flicks.net/components/com_gk2_photoslide/images/thumbm/222186raindance.jpg https://i-flicks.net/components/com_gk2_photoslide/images/thumbm/289307aint_them.jpg https://i-flicks.net/components/com_gk2_photoslide/images/thumbm/600165about_time__1_.jpg https://i-flicks.net/components/com_gk2_photoslide/images/thumbm/276452wadjda_top.jpg https://i-flicks.net/components/com_gk2_photoslide/images/thumbm/783758world_war_h.jpg


iFlicks on Twitter

Home Blog Latest BIFA Nominations Announced
BIFA Nominations Announced Print E-mail
Written by Ivan Radford   
Tuesday, 27 October 2009 16:55

Yes, the line-up for the British Independent Film Awards has been announced. And Fish Tank and Moon are kicking independent butt. Andrea Arnold's incredible feature has got itself 8 nods, with Duncan Jones' Moon clocking in with 7.

Other noms of note go to Jane Campion for Bright Star, Armando Ianucci's In the Loop and Lone Scherfig's An Education. The awards take place on Sunday 6th December, hosted by James Nesbitt and judged by such talent as Liam Cunningham and Eddie Marsan. If you can pick between these brilliant Brits, you're a better man than me.

Read on for the full list of nominees.


Best Film

An Education

Fish Tank

In The Loop


Nowhere Boy


Best Director

Lone Scherfig (An Education)

Jane Campion (Bright Star)

Andrea Arnold (Fish Tank)

Armando Iannucci (In The Loop

Duncan Jones (Moo


The Douglas Hickox Award For Debut Director

Armando Iannucci (In The Loop)

Peter Strickland (Katalin Varga)

Duncan Jones (Moon)

Sam Taylor-Wood (Nowhere Boy)

Samantha Morton (The Unlove


Best Screenplay

Nick Hornby (An Education)

Andrea Arnold (Fish Tank)

Armando Iannucci, Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell and Tony Roche (In The Loop)

Nathan Parker (Moon)

Matt Greenhalgh (Nowhere Boy)


Best Actress

Carey Mulligan (An Education)

Abbie Cornish (Bright Star)

Katie Jarvis (Fish Tank)

Sophie Okonedo (Skin)

Emily Blunt (The Young Victoria)


Best Actor

Tom Hardy (Bronson)

Peter Capaldi (In The Loop)

Sam Rockwell (Moon)

Aaron Johnson (Nowhere Boy)

Andy Serkis (Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll)


Best Supporting Actress

Rosamund Pike (An Education)

Kerry Fox (Bright Star)

Kierston Wareing (Fish Tank)

Anne Marie Duff (Nowhere Boy)

Kristin Scott Thomas (Nowhere Boy)


Best Supporting Actor

Alfred Molina (An Education)

Michael Fassbender (Fish Tank)

Tom Hollander (In The Loop)

John Henshaw (Looking For Eric)

Jim Broadbent (The Damned United)


Most Promising Newcomer

Katie Jarvis (Fish Tank)

Hilda Peter (Katalin Varga)

Christian McKay (Me And Orson Welles)

George McKay (The Boys Are Back)

Edward Hogg (White Lightnin') 

  • an education
  • andrea arnold
  • armando ianucci
  • bifa
  • bright star
  • british independent film awards
  • duncan jones
  • fish tank
  • in the loop
  • independent
  • jane campion